Month: June 2008

  • It’s hot, hot HOT!!

    I have no idea where spring went!  It’s soooo freaking hot!  I know I’m from Florida but cmon on, in Florida you go from one centrally air-conditioned building to another and you never walk anywhere. Just go in and out of your car with the ac on full blast. The heat up here is so much worse than Florida.

    Right now we live on the 5th floor of a pre-war walkup with no central ac, just window units. If you are directly in front of the window unit it feels nice and cool but the moment you step a foot away from the blower radius it feel like you have crossed over into the Caribbean. Also, if you’ve been sitting or laying down for a while and you stand up you can feel a significant temperature difference. Folks heat really does rise!

    I don’t mean to sound like such a whiny brat. I think the heat is bringing the worst out of me. All sense of patience and kindness leave my mind and body the moment I experience 95-plus degree weather. Or maybe I really am a cranky, mean person and the heat brings out my true character.

    What’s the temp like in your neck of the woods? Hopefully cooler than NYC.