April 9, 2008

  • Our office has gone to the dogs…

    well not really…it’s always kinda crazy here but we’ve had a couple of furry friends to keep us company lately.

    Meet…


    Saxon, a golden retriever puppy. He wouldn’t hold still when we tried to take his picture. =P


    Gromit, ChrisChoi‘s beloved doggy and our unofficial Xanga mascot.


    And the newest addition- Max, Joel‘s cockapoo puppy.

    We also get occasional visits from Adam‘s puppy, Lady, another cockapoo puppy. I don’t have any pics of her but she’s incredibly cute and sweet. She looks just like a teddy bear.

    I didn’t have pets growing up, so I was never really into the idea of having a dog. My husband really wants to get a dog but I thought I wouldn’t like having a pet so I’ve always said no to his requests. However, after playing with these dogs and seeing them often I’m more open to the idea of getting one. I was so surprised by how happy a dog can make you. Every time I see one of these guys I get a huge smile on my face. I now understand the saying “man’s best friend.”

    However, I really don’t know anything about dogs. I know having a pet is a lot of responsibility and work and I realize this is a life long commitment. I’m still not sure if I’m ready to have a dog but I want to learn more.  Until recently I didn’t even realize that different breeds of dogs have different temperaments. Does anyone have any recommendations for types of dogs? What kind of dogs do you guys have?

Comments (14)

  • dude, you can’t have a xanga mascot puppy without painting it with the little colored blocks. like, uh, dye it’s fur or something. don’t ask chris first, though, he might say no.

  • We had a beautiful German Shepherd/Husky mix and she had a very sweet temperament. But the shedding was year round and was like having tumbleweeds rolling through the house. She lived to be over 16 years old.

  • Boxer dogs are very sweet, loving animals.  Great dogs, especially for a first time pet owner.  They keep quiet and are great with children, easy to potty train and will always be happy to see you.

  • I’m a cat person I guess.  My roommates have a dog (after I told them I wasn’t up for it….) and I’m not against dogs, but given the choice, I’d take a cat every time.  In the city, you have to clean up dog poop, while you don’t have to clean up a cat’s.  

    The dog we have here is a Welsh Corgi, and this breed, like some of the others, were used for herding.  So, when I come downstairs to get food or something, the dog nips at my heel and the back of my leg to ‘herd’ me.  Kind of strange.  

  • They all look soooo adorable!!

  • for some people, getting a dog is a precursor for having children. it requires about the same amount of attention, energy, time, love, money, etc. since i was a kid, i’ve owned all sorts of pets – cats, birds, fish, turtles, white mice, frogs, etc. – but dogs are the one thing i haven’t had as a pet. they require walking! that’s a little too much effort.

  • i would pick up a lab or a (mini) Schnauzer. i am sure your fellow coworkers can help you with advice on how to take care of a fellow dog if and when you do get one.

  • I have 2 dogs–a standard poodle and a mutt. they’re my life. I adore them.

  • oy… it was great meeting you tonight!  all the puppy pics drew me in… hahaha… i was just dropping by to sub… what a topic tho… i love my baby to bits, and i get sad when i think of her eventual demise (i’m weird like that- that i think about it), but i don’t regret it… but it is a HUGE amount of work and effort.  for the first 6 months to year, depending on your breed (and up to 2 years, i believe) expect to go home first – regardless of where that is or how far it is from work and where you want to go or do – before you do anything, to take care of the dog’s needs, and then go out.  my dog is now 6 years old but i’ve done this occasionally where possible and now it is either dinner at 6 and go home right after, or dinner at 8 and run home straight after work, walk her, then come back out (and she seems more depressed when i do it taht way).  i don’t HAVE to – i potentially could leave her for a little bit longer but i can’t imagine holding my pee (or poo! omg!) for 12 hours like she does already on a normal day for me, so how could i make her do it longer?  it just seems wrong… anyway, so for the first while you’re going to have to deal with that, and accidents – and you said you don’t have a yard, so it’s not like you can just let the puppy out and go about your business getting ready in the mornings while the puppy runs around and does its business (my bf does that with his dog)… i’m not trying to talk you out of it, i think dogs are the bomb! but i do firmly believe that people should be fully aware of everything before they get into it (and in all seriousness, a pox on anyone who adopts a dog, realizes it’s too much work, and then returns it/sells it/donates it/WORST ABANDONS IT… and i know a few people who have done this, and have told htem they are jerkfaces)… anyway i’m writing a novel here, but this is a very touchy topic for me.  sorry. 

    ps i am not a perfect pet owner, and i was lucky when i adopted my dog in that i was unemployed and therefore able to spend buttloads of time with her.

  • awww.. these babies are adorable. i have shih tzus, and they make this face that seems guilty all the time… hahaha.

  • can’t help you with dogs coz it’s a taboo in my culture. we do keep cats though.

  • ahhh so cute! ^^

    <3 gromit~~

    omg, i thought the 1st pic is kinda like the stuffed dog frum Scrubs =X

  • I would love to be able to bring my dog with me to work!  the Xanga office must be soooo nice.  :)   I have a corgi/chow chow mix.   I would say the most important thing in choosing a dog is finding one with your energy level.  If you’re lazy, don’t get a hyper/working dog.  If you’re active, don’t get a dog that likes to sleep all day!

  • I never would have considered a dog – I grew up with cats and always said I hated dogs – but the husband came pre-equipped with a rescued pit bull, so a dog I got. Turns out that I hate dogs as an idea, but love individual dogs. She is, however, a ton of work. We say that she’s our ninety-pound two-year-old. Definitely be careful about picking a dog which matches your energy level.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *