Month: November 2008

  • Have You Ever Been On a Cruise?

    Hope everyone had a great weekend!

    My parents are celebrating their 30th wedding anniversary next month. Since I was a little girl I always wanted to send my parents on a vacation and finally this year I have the opportunity to do so. I’m sooo excited for them! My parents haven’t been on a vacation alone since before I was born, 28 years ago.

    I was pretty limited in where to send them. They only have 4 days off so I didn’t want them to fly or drive too far away to get somewhere. Also, they aren’t internet savvy so going somewhere they’d have to research and find things to do or eat would be too tough.

    So I thought a cruise would be perfect for them. They only have to drive 45 min to get to the port from their home and from what I hear cruise ships are like floating hotel resorts- everything’s on the boat.

    This will be the first cruise experience for my folks and to be honest no one I know has ever gone on a cruise (I wonder why that is, seems like such a good deal ).  Have any of you been on a cruise before?

    I ask because I wanted to help my parents pick out things to do for the days they’re docked in Nassau, Bahamas. Is it worth paying the fees to do the organized excursions or can you just get off the boat and do your own thing? What do you recommend?  Also, is there anything you’d recommend they bring with them on the cruise (I think dramamine is a must)?

    I would greatly appreciate any advice. Thanks so much

  • Oldskool Candy!

    Jon handed out some pretty cool candy to the XangaTeam…

    oldskool candy

    Chris proved the urban legend about pop rocks and soda isn’t true (much to my disappointment ).

    What’s your favorite oldskool candy? (ahhhh! eating pop rocks is like throwing a raging party in your mouth!)